Last Day.

Today is my last day as an intern at Arts + Labor. It is bitter sweet because I miss my family and I am excited to see them, but I feel like I am leaving so much behind here. Although I’ve only been here for 6 weeks, Austin has shown me that there is so much more to the world than what I’m use to. Not only in the work world sense, but also just in general. Anyway, to insure I don’t make this a sappy post, let’s talk about what I’ve been up to!

Friday of last week, I went on a shoot and I was the PA again. The house we were shooting in was GORGEOUS. I don’t know if I could live in that house personally, but there was definitely a very uniqueness about it. After we left the house, we went down town to a company who had the penthouse office on the 26th floor. I have never seen an office that looked like that before. It was a really long day, but it was a lot of fun.

After the long week of work, Dr. and Mrs. Scholl took me to a play out in Zilker park. It was a totally volunteer performance and it was free other than some for parking. The musical was Oklahoma! and it was actually really good. You could tell that these people are really passionate about what they do and they are happy to get involved whenever.

This past weekend we went out to the ranch again for the last time. Nathan Wagoner and his wife, Gabriele, and stepson, Hunter, came out to join us. We went horse back riding and it was a lot of fun. I’ll miss how peaceful the ranch is. I could sit out on the porch for hours and just watch the horses graze in front of me. I know I will be back there someday.

On Sunday, the Juniata Alum who works at Arts + Labor, Wylie, invited me for a house warming get together. It turned out to be a huge Juniata reunion and I was able to meet a bunch of people who graduated before me or had some type of connection to JC. It was really nice to talk to people who know about Juniata and to share stories.

This week at work has been both slow and productive. I am helping Stephanie and Scott do some paperwork, but all of the projects that I have worked on this past summer are now in post production so it is almost the perfect time for me to head home. Almost.

Last night I said goodbye to Nathan and Gabriele, and some other friends that I have made here in Austin, and tonight will be more goodbyes while I do a ton of laundry before I pack.

Coming to Austin was the best decision I could have made. I know that I will be back here some day.

Keep Austin weird.

 

Leave a Reply

