Down to the wire!

Yesterday in the office I reminded the producers that next week is my last week. “Megan you can’t leave us!” I know, I know, but I have to for now. But the thought of leaving hasn’t kept me from being motivated!

Last week, I was a production assistant for another Dell commercial. Again, I was whatever someone wanted me to be. If I needed to get the coffee, it was there. If I needed to help with the jib, I was keeping it still. Overall it was a fun shoot and I felt a little special because we were using the location that I found on my own for it. 

This week I am on a search for the perfect conference room that we can film our Dell commercial in on Friday. Yes, Friday. We have been looking for a conference room for weeks and all of our prospects have fallen through. So, no pressure or anything. This process is a lot of “hurry up and waiting.” I contact about 5 companies and wait for 2 or 3 to reply. I’m kind of use to this, because I use to find space to film in on Juniata campus, but Juniata is a lot different than the entire city of Austin.

Other than that, we are getting ready for the shoot on Friday which will be another long, but fulfilling day. Although I love the place I work in, it’s always fun to get out of the office for a few hours.

I have been busy outside of my internship too. Last week I made a few friends who I have been hanging out with recently. On my day off, we went to Barton Springs and to South Congress. The Springs is a natural creek/river, which they dammed to make it more of a swimming pool. I really liked it, but the water doesn’t get any warmer than 68 degrees…ever and I have a personal rule of having the water be at least 80 degrees before I can think about getting in. South Congress, SoCo is what the Austinites call it, is this popular street with different shops and restaurants. There is a staple pizza place on this street that I tried….and although it was good, OIP or other local pizza places up north are way better. PA may not have breakfast tacos, but at least we have great pizza! 

The next day a friend took me to town lake and we went paddle boarding. This is when you stand on a surf board type thing and you paddle around. We paddled down a good bit of the lake and then realized we were super hungry, so we had to paddle the whole way back. #thestruggle

After paddle boarding, we went to this local tex mex restaurant, Chuy’s. To be honest, I’m super sick of tex mex, but this place was great! And the atmosphere was cool too. Although we were so full, we had to go get ice cream, OBVIOUSLY. There is this ice cream place that is pretty well known down here called Amy’s and we got this awesome flavor called the Hill topper. Mexican vanilla, Reseses, cookie dough, and then covered in fudge. So good. So good.

On Monday, I met up with Nathan Wagoner and his step son and we went down to San Antonio for the day. It was a neat city, but the Alamo isn’t what I pictured it to be. It was in the middle of the town when I expected it to be in some field somewhere. We also went to the river walk and this famous tex mex place (see why I’m tired of tex mex yet?) called La Tierra it was very unique looking and had great food. 

So here I am, waiting to hear back from people. Stay tuned for my final installments to my Austin Adventures Saga!

I have attached some random pictures and videos from my past week. Also! Here is the link to a project I worked on 🙂 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yoTFBI-AXZE

 

Leave a Reply

