Halfway Point!

I normally try to post every Monday, but I have been so busy this past week that I had to keep you patiently waiting until I posted again. 

Last week was a very busy week at the office. As you know, I was in on Monday doing prep for the shoot during the week. On Tuesday, I was a PA (production assistant) for a Dell commercial. My duties consisted of being whatever the rest of the crew needed me to be. If I needed to help with equipment, I did. If I needed to help the Art Director, I did. And if I needed to order lunch for everyone, I did. Although many people might see these as intern type of work, I don’t. The producer has to be organized, know what is going on, and make sure everything is going smoothly on a shoot, and I helped do that.

The next day, we had another shoot for Dell. Although the space was small, it was the perfect location. I needed to make sure that I was available when I was needed, and out of the way when I wasn’t. The last thing that you want to be on a shoot is in the way of anyone, especially the director. The day was long, but we came away with some really great stuff. 

On Thursday, I went into the office and returned a few items that we didn’t use as wardrobe, and then we had a 4th of July office party! It was nice to kick back and really talk to different people at the company that I haven’t met before. 

After that long week, the Scholl’s took me to their friend’s coast house for the weekend. I had an amazing time and met some great people. The boys went out deep sea fishing, and although I was invited, I decided to pass since I didn’t want to get sea sick and then be stuck out in the middle of the ocean. Not my definition of a good time. Later that night we took the boat out to watch the fireworks. It was a really great show, but when we were driving  back the boat got stuck in the mud so we all had to get out and push it. Good thing the water was only ankle deep. 🙂

I also had my first experience bay fishing. Although I didn’t actually fish because I didn’t have a license, this type of fishing is way different than what I am use to back up in PA.

That was all last week, so hold your breath…there’s more!

On Monday, the executive producer at Arts + Labor bought me and the other intern a movie ticket to see Hellion. Hellion is the movie that A+L was involved in and it has received a lot of recognition at Sundance this year. I HIGHLY recommend everyone to see it. It is nothing like you have ever seen before and it will keep you on the edge of your seat.

I’m also prepping for another Dell shoot on Thursday and another for next week, so I’m staying busy! 

Leave a Reply

